As such, the social network, which has one billion users, has gone on to remind users of the various privacy settings available and answered some key questions around Graph Search.
In a statement Facebook said: "Privacy works consistently across Facebook, not just on Graph Search. When you control who you share your information with, you determine who it's shared with across Facebook - including News Feed, Timeline and in Graph Search."
Controlling which information shows up on Graph Search:
"You control the audience of information you share on Facebook. For each piece of content you own, you can choose whether that information is shared with Public, Friends, Only Me, Custom or specific lists of people.
"Graph Search is aware of these privacy settings. Go to your Activity Log to review and control who can see what you share on Facebook."
Who can see information about my Facebook friends through Graph Search?
"You can choose who can see your friend and family lists across Facebook, on your timeline, in News Feed and Graph Search.
"Just as you control who can see your friend lists, your friends control who can see their friend lists. Someone might be able to tell that you're friends with another person -- and search based on that friendship -- if they can see your friendship on the other person's timeline."
Control of photos on Facebook
"Last year, we launched improved privacy tools that let people see what they've shared, to see what photos have been tagged of them, and to be able to take action if there's something they don't like.
"In Activity Log, you can now review all posts and things you’re tagged in. For example, with photos, you can see photos you’ve uploaded and been tagged in.You can then untag yourself from any of those photos, or, if you didn't post it, send a message to the owner of the photo asking them to take it down from Facebook."