Receive free incoming calls on roaming through South Asia, Airtel nods to Africa

Global leader in integrated telecommunication services Airtel has today unveiled the world’s first ever free intercontinental incoming roaming service for its African subscribers, following the addition of India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka to its existing bouquet of “One Network” service.

Airtel’s move to offer free incoming calls on roaming is viewed as capable of expanding its stake as a global telecoms leader — as the seamless service is the first of its kind among mobile service providers worldwide.

Chief marketing officer of Airtel Africa Andre Beyers commented: “Mobile communication has the ability to connect communities. Airtel’s “One Network’ now gives our customers the ability to drastically reduce roaming charges whilst travelling within and across the two continents. Our goal is to provide affordable and relevant mobile communication solutions across borders.”

Airtel subscribers will be automatically integrated as “citizens” of Airtel’s borderless network across 20 countries in Africa and Asia, as they will not need to register for the “One Network” service or buy new SIM cards, Airtel says.

Around the company’s 60 million subscribers in Africa, across 17 countries of operation in the continent, are expected to benefit from affordable roaming tariffs in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

“One Network” also enables Airtel customers to use their local Airtel SIM cards while abroad, allowing them access to competitive rates for “calls made, access data, enjoy value added services and recharge using local top up vouchers” in the destination visited.

Airtel hopes the service will also benefit increasing intra-regional trade between Africa and the South Asian nations, whose value currently stands at over US$60Billion.

Likewise, travellers between Africa and the 3 South Asian countries is reportedly growing, justifying Airtel’s nod to Africa; India has become a major destination for African travellers for trade, colleges and medical facilities. 

“This will greatly benefit the travelling population, consisting of tourists, corporates, businessmen and students who want to keep in touch with people back home,” Airtel said.

According to Airtel, the countries covered by its “One Network” services currently include Kenya, Burkina Faso, Chad, Congo Brazzaville, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, Ghana, Madagascar, Malawi, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

Posted in: Telecoms

Latest headlines

Latest by Category

Tweets about "humanipo"