Another six directors ditch SABC, just three remain

A further six resignations has left the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) with just three board members and still looking for a chairman.

HumanIPO reported earlier this month the SABC’s chairman Ben Ngubane and his deputy Thami ka Plaatjie had resigned and on Friday last week an angry letter from Communications Minister Dina Pule was revealed attacking the board.

Now President Jacob Zuma has accepted a further six resignations from Lumko Mtimde, John Danana, Cedric Gina, Desmond Golding, Cawe Mahlati and Noluthando Gosa.

Mac Maharaj, presidential spokesman, said: “The president has accepted their resignations and thanked them for their contribution during their tenure as board members of the SABC.

“The president has requested the minister of communications, Dina Pule, to liaise with the national assembly regarding the process to fill the vacancies left by the members who have resigned.”

The fallout has reportedly stemmed from the tenure of acting chief operating officer Hlaudi Motsoengeng, which has been surrounded by confusion.

Posted in: Broadcasting

Latest headlines

Latest by Category

Tweets about "humanipo"