Kenyan ICT cabinet secretary sworn in

ICT cabinet secretary Dr Fred Matiangi was today sworn into office, together with fourteen other cabinet secretaries nominated by president Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto in April.

The National Assembly cleared the 16-member Cabinet for appointment in a heated session on yesterday.

The ministers were sworn in at State House, Nairobi in a ceremony officiated by Chief Justice Willy Mutunga and Chief Registrar of the Judiciary Gladys Shollei. President Uhuru Kenyatta witnessed the ceremony.

“As I pledged to Kenyans during my inauguration as the fourth President of our country, an overriding commitment of my government will be to address the problems of poor service delivery and inefficient use of public resources,” Kenyatta said.

The President added that the secretaries had no option but to work and deliver in their roles as the people of Kenya were expectant of a transformed and efficient public service.

“As cabinet secretaries you will be expected to provide the strategic leadership that will lead to the realisation of Vision 2030 goals as well as the pledges that we have made in the Jubilee manifesto,” he said.

He said that the cabinet secretaries will be expected to provide the direction needed for the realisation of Kenya’s development goals and the promises in the Jubilee manifesto.

The nominee for Foreign Affairs – Amina Mohammed – is out of the country and will be sworn in at a later date.

Posted in: Policy

Latest headlines

Latest by Category

Tweets about "humanipo"