New SABC board appointed

New SABC board appointed

South African deputy president Kgalema Motlanthe has appointed a new South African Broadcasting Corporation Board (SABC) after what he called a “robust” interviewing and selection process.

HumanIPO reported last week the SABC was set for a new board after the parliamentary portfolio committee announced the final list of recommended names, though opposition party the Democratic Alliance (DA) criticised the selection process.

The selected names were forwarded to the National Assembly on Thursday last week.

In a statement today, presidency spokesman Mac Maharaj said: “Motlanthe, in his capacity as Acting President of the Republic, has in terms of section 13 (1) of the Broadcasting Act, 1999 (Act 4 of 1999), appointed 12 non-executive members of the Board of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC), for a period of five years with effect from 25 September 2013.”

The new board members are Ellen Tshabalala, Noluthando Gosa, Vusumuzi Mavuso, Ronnie Lubisi, Rachel Kalidaas, Thembinkosi Bonakele, Nomvuyo Mhlakaza, Bongani Khumalo, Mbulaheni Maguvhe, Krish Naidoo, Aaron Tshidzumba and Hope Zinde.

“Acting President Motlanthe congratulated all the new members of the SABC Board and wished them well in the new endeavours,” Maharaj said.

HumanIPO reported last week on claims in the Sunday Times that African National Congress (ANC) interns were used to make nominations to the board.

Image courtesy of Shutterstock.

Latest headlines

Latest by Category

Tweets about "humanipo"